About Us



 The Mount Pleasant Art Society (MPAS) was organized in 1977.  Over the years, we grew into an organization that includes members from surrounding towns in Texas, Arkansas and Oklahoma.  In the early years, we moved frequently, meeting wherever there was available space.  In May of 1983, the society purchased the country church that has  became the home of our society.  The history of this simple frame building dates back to 1915, when the Oak Grove Church of Christ was deeded one acre of land upon which to build a meeting place.  In 1950 the building’s interior was renovated and four classrooms were added.  After many years as a church, this now historical building, was purchased by our art society and converted into the Willow Oak Art Center & Gallery.  Its location, across the road from the new Oak Grove Church of Christ, 3 ½ miles north of I-30 on FM 1402, is an ideal quiet country setting for member artists to paint, and display their art work. Visitors are always welcome.


Scroll down to view the different leadership positions filled by volunteers. 


Learn more about MPAS in our 



The Mount Pleasant Art Society (MPAS) has different events throughout the year requiring a group of volunteers working together to make it happen. This group effort is composed of individuals committed to serving in one or more position for at least a year.  Serving and being a member of MPAS can be a very rewarding experience.  Some of the people listed below have been associated with MPAS for many years, making it a respected, great and exciting organization to join. Please consider volunteering in any capacity. You’ll be promoting the art to which you are genuinely connected to while making friends with great people who also love art.

Officers (2019 - 2020)

President:  Steve Corbell

First V.P:  Carol Durrum

Second V.P.:  Shirley Clay

Secretary:  Deborah Carr

Treasurer:  Dolores Wright

Asst. Treasurer:  Gary Perrone

Corresponding Secretary:  LaVerne Arnett

Webmaster/Admin:  Donna Monroe



LaVerne Arnett

Linda Pepper

Dolores Wright

  Committees  (2019-2020)

  Program: Carol Durrum

  Yearbook:  Shirley Clay

  Membership, Finance: Dolores Wright & Gary Perrone

  Workshop: Donna Monroe & LaVerne Arnette

  Membership Show:   Sandy Hinds, Michelle Lawler, Donna Monroe, LaVerne        Arnett, Gary Perrone, Steve Corbell

  By-Laws: Dolores Wright

  Building & Grounds:  Ann Glaess, Linda Hardy, Karen Gatherer, Steve Corbell

  County Fair: Shirley Clay, LaVerne Arnett, Steve Corbell

  Large/Small Galleries:  Volunteers

  Refreshments:  Volunteers

  Newsletter:  Donna Monroe

  Historian: Donna Monroe